Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

Three Students Chosen to Represent SCCPSS as 2023 United States Presidential Scholars Candidates

Published on: 1/24/2023

Three Savannah-Chatham County Public School students from two high schools have been nominated to represent the District as United States Presidential Scholars.  

Aiden Maxwell.jpg

Aiden Maxwell of Jenkins High School is a nominee, along with Margaret Wade


and Kenzie Kurdys – both of Savannah Arts Academy.


The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.  There are five candidates from Savannah this year.  The other two are students at area private schools.  After submission of required materials, the students will be notified if they have been selected as semi-finalists by mid-April.

The Savannah-Chatham County Public School System is committed to ensuring that all material on its websites are accessible to students, faculty, staff and the general public. If you experience difficulty with accessibility on any web pages or documents, please request the materials in an alternate format by contacting us:

SCCPSS Privacy Statement