Savannah-Chatham County Public School System

 Adaptive Services and Unique Learning System

Students with significant cognitive disabilities receive instruction through Unique Learning System.  Unique Learning System (ULS) Curriculum is an alternate curriculum used to teach the Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE) Extended Content Standards to students with significant cognitive disabilities.

 The Unique Learning System (ULS) curriculum differentiates instruction and is comprised of three levels that can accommodate learners with significant cognitive disabilities performing at the independent level (Level 3), the supported level (Level 2) or the participatory level (Level1).  

Students study the Extended Content Standards for their grade level content. The unit lesson plans define three levels of differentiated tasks to accommodate the diversity of learners with significant disabilities.

ULS consists of six grade bands which allows our adaptive teachers to select material that is age-appropriate and engaging to students, no matter their developmental level:

  1. Preschool
  2. Elementary (Grades K-2)
  3. Intermediate (Grades 3-5)
  4. Middle School (Grades 6-8)
  5. High School (Grades 9-12)
  6. Transition (Grades 12+)

Student progress is tracked through data collection designed to identify individual student goals, preferences, and skills within educational learning tasks. 

  • Checkpoints provide pre- and post- assessment measures of monthly unit content and skill learning. 
  • Benchmarking assessments enable teachers to gather baseline data and monitor progress in selected areas of reading, writing, and math.​

The Savannah-Chatham County Public School System is committed to ensuring that digital content on its websites is accessible to persons with disabilities. If you or someone you know experiences an accessibility challange on any of our web pages or digital content, please notify us by calling (912) 395-5538 or emailing

SCCPSS Privacy Statement